Evaluation – 2. How does your media product represent particular social groups?

Here is my answer to question 2 of the evaluation.

Above I have placed two images of the band that I have featured in my magazine.  They are called Mont Blanc and are an indie rock band who have just had their big break through.

I chose to represent my artists as an indie group who and rebellious and independent. I therefore chose them to wear non mainstream clothing, however they needed to look stylish and cool. I also chose them to adopt stances that showed off there differences and and to make them to be relatable to the target audience. However, I also wanted them to look like normal people and therefore be able to show that they are just normal people who had a chance and made something of themselves.

arctic-monkeys-q-magazine-299-cover

Above I have inserted the cover to the magazine Q. Here they have chosen to represent their artists very differently to mine. They are represented as with their front man as the leader, almost as though they are not equal, with him being the leader. They are however also styled as an indie group who do not  follow the usual forms and conventions or modern day fashion. They are part of a smaller group which dont follow modern mainstream fashion. Due to this both magazines use a similar social groups in their magazine and therefore must also be aiming at the same target audience.

 

 

 

Leave a comment